The K12 Connect program is closed and no longer accepting applications.

Last updated: Nov. 4, 2020


Eligible households must meet all of the following requirements:

  • Must have at least one student:
    • Enrolled in an accredited South Dakota K-12 school; or
    • With an alternative education waiver on file with the local school district; or
    • Enrolled in a non-accredited school on file with the South Dakota Secretary of State; and
  • Must meet the income eligibility guidelines for the free and reduced school lunch program; and
  • Must not have internet service in the home between July 1, 2020, and present.

If these requirements are not met, your household will not be considered eligible.

How to Enroll

Eligible households will receive a letter indicating eligibility and identifying the appropriate telecommunications company to call in order to access free internet service through this program. Letters were mailed October 26.

To enroll, call the telecommunications company noted in your letter to set up service. Participating telecommunications companies will install the necessary equipment on a first-come, first-serve basis. Installation will occur as time and available equipment allow. Eligible students who live in more than one home will be provided connectivity at their primary residence.

Internet service will be provided through June 30, 2021. After that time, the household must return equipment to the internet provider OR continue services at the household's expense.

Enrollment closes November 20, 2020.

To see which provider is available in your area, click on this map and type in your address

Other Options

Households that do not qualify for the K-12 Connect program may qualify for the Federal Communications Commission's Lifeline program. Lifeline provides eligible subscribers a discount on monthly telephone service, broadband internet service, or bundled packages purchased from participating wireline or wireless providers. Apply by visiting

K-12 Connect is a partnership of the South Dakota Governor's Office, Bureau of Information and Telecommunications, Department of Education, and participating telecommunications companies.